Posted by: katiecrawford | April 2, 2009

Advertising Slogans! We are almost in April!

Energizer BunnyToday marked the last day of class for the month of March and I cannot believe this semester has gone by so fast. On Monday, March 30 my public relations class with Barbara Nixon receieved a crossword puzzle titled Advertising Slogans.

Professor Nixon asked us to get in groups and work on the puzzle for 10 minutes. At first I thought the puzzle would be very easy, but as I began to read the clues I found myself lost. Although my group knew more answers than I myself knew, the clues took us all down memory lane. Slogans such as “Snap, crackle, and pop” for Rice Krispies and “They’re grrreat!” for Frosted Flakes were favorites among my group members. After doing all that we could with the puzzle Professor Nixon answered each clue so that we could all fill in the ones we didn’t get.

I enjoyed this activity because it shows just how long a slogan can still affect the public. I will never hear “Just do it” and not think of Nike or “Pizza! Pizza!” and not want a Little Caesars pizza. Slogans have a great impact  in the public and can last a lifetime. Whether we like it or not we are subject to thousands of advertising slogans a day. So the next time you hear “It keeps going, and going, and going” don’t be surprised that the first image to pop in your head is a pink bunny beating a drum!

Leave a Reply

Categories

